Ultrasound - a brief introduction

Ultrasound is used in science and technology for a wide range of applications. In the following, the physical principles of ultrasound will be briefly described.

When ultrasonic waves are applied from a frequency of 20 kHz and a sound intensity of 0.1 W / cm² to liquid media, small cavitation bubbles occur due to the strong alternating stress. These finest cavities with low internal pressure are due to the inertia of the medium and the induced mechanical vibrations. Due to the external pressure of the medium, the unstable bubbles impulse after short growth under high pressure and temperature peaks. This results in high shear forces at the boundary layer. This effect occurs particularly on air bubbles or dirt particles, the so-called cavitation nuclei. The cavitation in the water triggers the acoustically perceptible noise of high-performance ultrasound equipment.

 

Cavitation

In ultrasonic cleaners cavitation promotes the removal of the dirt particles from the solid cleaning object. Further applications are the homogenization, in which emulsions are produced as well as the degassing of liquids. Due to the very low pressure within the cavitation bubbles, dissolved gases dissolved in the medium are converted into the gaseous state. When the cavitation bubbles are impregnated, they are then taken up again to the point of the solution equilibrium by the medium. Excess gas emerges from the medium. The apparatus used for the sounding of e.g. Biogas substrate utilizes the shear forces generated by the cavitation at the solid-liquid boundary layer and the resultant attack of the surface, which leads to a comminution and disintegration of contiguous particles in liquid media.

The demonstration of this cavitation effect can be easily achieved with the so-called "foil test": an aluminum foil of 0.01 to 0.02 mm thickness is stretched on a wire frame, introduced into the liquid and sonicated for 60 seconds. The cavitation causes perforations of the film, where the intensity and distribution of the cavitation can be seen.

Der Folientest

Use of cavitation for cleaning

The interest in the cleaning effect is based on the fact that cavitation predominantly occurs at points of inhomogeneity, ie where contaminants adhere to surfaces. The dirt itself attracts the cavitation, which eventually dissolves it from the surface.
This process is often referred to as 'micro-scrubbing' or 'electronic brushing'. The ultrasonic is, however, an equally gentle and thorough brush, because the effect of the cavitation allows - even in the short term - sensitive surfaces unaffected and unfolds wherever cleaning liquid is present. 

Ultrasonic cleaning is an ideal method to clean blind holes, knurls, cracks and all kinds of cavities that are manually poorly accessible. Whole assemblies, such as gearboxes, need not be disassembled for cleaning, but can be inserted as a whole into an ultrasonic cleaning bath. Ultrasonic cleaning is also suitable for sensitive parts, eg electronic components, circuit boards, inaccessible electrostatic filter cells, diesel valves or fine car injection nozzles. Also in medicine, the dirt-dissolving effect of cavitation in hospitals and practices is used for the cleaning and time reduction in the disinfection of fine cutting instruments, endoscope parts and in particular microinstruments.

Ultraschall - eine kurze Einführung

Ultraschall wird in Wissenschaft und Technik für die vielfältigsten Anwendungen eingesetzt. Im Folgenden werden kurz die physikalischen Grundlagen des Ultraschalls beschrieben. 

Bei der Einwirkung von Ultraschall ab einer Frequenz von 20 kHz und einer Schallintensität von 0,1 W/cm² auf flüssige Medien entstehen aufgrund der starken Wechselbeanspruchung kleinste Kavitationsblasen. Diese feinsten Hohlräume mit geringem Innendruck entstehen aufgrund der Trägheit des Mediums und der induzierten mechanischen Schwingungen. Durch den äußeren Druck des Mediums implodieren die instabilen Blasen nach kurzem Wachstum unter hohen Druck- und Temperaturspitzen. Dabei entstehen hohe Scherkräfte an der Grenzschicht. Dieser Effekt tritt besonders an Luftbläschen oder Schmutzpartikeln, den sogenannten Kavitationskeimen auf. Die Kavitation im Wasser löst das akustisch wahrnehmbare Rauschen von Hochleistungs-Ultraschallgeräten aus.

 

Kavitation

In Ultraschallreinigungsgeräten fördert die Kavitation die Abtragung der Schmutzpartikel vom festen Reinigungsobjekt. Weitere Anwendungen sind die Homogenisierung, bei der Emulsionen hergestellt werden sowie die Entgasung von Flüssigkeiten. Durch den sehr geringen Druck innerhalb der Kavitationsblasen gehen hierbei im Medium gelöste Gase in den gasförmigen Zustand über. Beim Implodieren der Kavitationsblasen werden sie dann nur bis zum Punkt des Lösungsgleichgewichtes wieder vom Medium aufgenommen. Es kommt zum Austritt des überschüssigen Gases aus dem Medium. Der für die Beschallung von z.B. Biogassubstrat genutzte Effekt nutzt die durch die Kavitation erzeugten Scherkräfte an der Fest-Flüssig-Grenzschicht und den daraus resultierenden Angriff der Oberfläche, welcher zu einer Zerkleinerung und Desintegration von zusammenhängenden Partikeln in flüssigen Medien führt. 

Den Nachweis dieser Kavitationswirkung kann man leicht mit dem sogenannten Folientest erbringen: Eine Aluminiumfolie von 0,01 bis 0,02 mm Stärke wird auf einen Drahtrahmen gespannt, in die Flüssigkeit eingebracht und 60 Sekunden lang beschallt. Die Kavitation verursacht Perforationen der Folie, an denen man gut die Intensität und Verteilung der Kavitation erkennen kann.

Der Folientest

Einsatz der Kavitation zur Reinigung

Das Interesse an der Reinigungswirkung beruht darauf, dass Kavitation vorwiegend an Inhomogenitätsstellen auftritt, also gerade dort, wo Verunreinigungen auf Oberflächen haften. Der Schmutz selbst zieht gewissermaßen die Kavitation an, die ihn schließlich von der Oberfläche löst.
Diesen Vorgang bezeichnet man auch gern als ‚Mikro-Schrubben‘ oder ‚Elektronisches Bürsten‘. Der Ultraschall ist allerdings eine ebenso schonende wie gründliche Bürste, denn die Wirkung der Kavitation lässt - kurzfristig angewendet - auch empfindliche Oberflächen unversehrt und entfaltet sich überall da, wo Reinigungsflüssigkeit vorhanden ist. Ultraschall-Reinigung ist eine ideale Methode, um Sacklöcher, Rändel, Ritzen und alle Arten von Hohlräumen zu reinigen, die manuell schlecht zugänglich sind. Ganze Baugruppen, wie z. B. Getriebe, brauchen zur Reinigung nicht zerlegt werden, sondern können im Ganzen in ein Ultraschall-Reinigungsbad eingelegt werden.
Ebenso bietet sich die Ultraschallreinigung für sensible Teile an, z. B. elektronische Bauteile, Leiterplatten, unzugängliche elektrostatische Filterzellen, Dieselventile oder feine PKW-Einspritzdüsen. Auch in der Medizin nutzt man die schmutzablösende Wirkung der Kavitation in Krankenhäusern und Praxen zur Säuberung und Zeitverkürzung bei der Desinfektion von feinen Schneidinstrumenten, Endoskopteilen und insbesondere Mikroinstrumenten.